Failed Experience

Okay. During my recent cooking career, sometimes I find the foods I cook either surprisingly to my taste than expected… while others are terribly gagging. :\ There are the bads and the goods, so it might be a good idea to record both.

Today I tried the Curry Potatoes. I just wrote down quick direction rather than looking at them carefully. Furthermore, I didn’t have exact ingredients. So I put water and curry in first, then along some vegetables. Note to self: Always put the stiff ones first. In this case, I should’ve put potatoes first, until disintergrate, then add the other ones in. Curry should not exceed half a Tablespoon or even a fourth of a Tablespoon (for my taste) and seasoning + sugar should be around the same amount. NEVER put Naked Blueberry mix to enhance taste because the blue berry is too strong. Next time, try Orange Juice? I don’t know. Still in the process of testing things out.

Okay, so I have pancake for dinner instead of potatoes curry. Yum. Maybe I’ll do it better next time… I hope. I need a break from potatoes.

Don’t be discourage by one failed experiment. I have had many beside this one. Especially in the baking business, I wasted many plates of cookies. However, on the positive side, a fail experiment enhances the experience toward future great cooking skills. I’ve always been amazed how my mom throw ingredients in her pot of wonderland like magic without even a tablespoon for measurement. Perhaps it has become an instinct. 🙂

Leave a comment